Macular Degeneration

Additional Information on Macular Degeneration:

  • The progression of this eye disease leads to the development of a scotoma.
    • A “scotoma” is a blind spot with reduced or absent vision. It is island-like, in which it is surrounded by better vision.
  • There are two types of late stages of macular degeneration:
    • Exudative (wet) type
      • Fluid is leaked below or within the retina by newly immature blood vessels growth towards the outer retina from the underlying choroid.
    • Atrophic (dry) type
      • Thinning of the macula. As atrophic macular degeneration progresses, the affected vision increases in size restricting an individuals’ ability to use a compensatory technique for functional performance.

Skip to toolbar